Here’s my heart, Lord

Today, I am an Israelite. In fact, I’ve been one for almost 3 months.

If you all remember, we had a pretty solid thing going with #Ashleys24Days, something I still intend to finish. Midway through the challenges, something happened that changed my life. In a matter of 3 weeks, I moved from our little suburb of Melbourne, Florida, to New York City starting over.

After a month and a half of adventures, I find myself grumbling and ungrateful, much like the Israelites in Exodus 16. After the Lord had taken them out of Egypt, they wandered in the wilderness for 40 years. In that time, they had begun to get restless and hungry and complained that things weren’t as good as they were when they were slaves in Egypt.

Now, I do want to clarify that living with my parents has never been nor will ever be as bad as slavery. This is not to say something negative about being at home. I know what I had and what I left behind. In fact, when I complain to my mother about being homesick, she normally responds by saying, “Stop crying, this is the best thing that’s ever happened to you.” and in a lot of ways, she’s right.

This is one of the best things that’s ever happened to me, as hard as it is. As a result, I want to first say that I am still going to finish the 24 Day challenge; however, probably different from originally planned. Secondly, this blog is also going to change. I’m going to start writing 4 days a week with the following schedule:

  • Motivation Monday
  • Worship Wednesday
  • Freedom Friday
  • Something New Saturday

This will allow me to focus on more positive things, as well as connect and share better things that I’m passionate about. Since today is a Wednesday, I did want to start off with a Worship Wednesday post. So, from one of my favorite choirs, “Come Thou Fount / Holy Holy Holy”:

Leave a Reply

