[About Me]

Fun fact: This is my 40th blog post. So I decided I would do an “About Me” type post, since I haven’t, yet. But I wanted to do 11 questions instead of just telling my life story because my life story would take too long and it’s kinda boring. So, here we go.

  1. What is the TLDR version of your life?
    1. “Being confident of this: that He who started a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ”
  2. What should they teach in high school, but don’t?
    1. When I was in high school, we had to learn how to write checks and balance our checkbooks and stay out of debt as part of a class called Career Research and Decision Making. I heard they don’t make freshmen take the class anymore, so I would say that.
  3. Which movie or book do you think is ridiculously over rated?
    1. Movie: Miracle on 34th St. Book: Anything by Nicholas Sparks. So many shots fired lol
  4. Who would you most like to sit next to on a 10 hour flight and why?
    1. My great grandmother, Rita. I hear that I’m a lot like her and she was really fun and funny. Plus, I inherited my love of rum for her, so I’m sure it’d be a trip 😉
  5. You have $100 to burn, all your friends are busy and you have a whole day to yourself, what do you do?
    1. Well yesterday, I had a half day off from work, so that’s pretty much the same thing, right? I’m actually a pretty spontaneous person with my time off mainly because the rest of my life is so rigidly scheduled out. I could take a day trip to Universal Studios in Orlando, spend a few hours at Ron Jon’s Surf Shop in Cocoa Beach, and I would finish off with dinner at Hemingway’s Tavern in Melbourne.
  6. How useful would you be in a zombie apocalypse? What kind of skills do you have that would help you and others survive?
    1. My only usefulness is the ability to keep a relatively calm head when things get really really bad. I just block out the emotions that make you freak out and I go to this whole other level of determination. I could probably be a nurse or mildly resourceful, but I don’t know if I’d be good for much else.
  7. What inscription do you want on your gravestone?
    1. She held nothing back
  8. What is something that can’t be taught and can only be learned with age?
    1. Determination. Or rather, the determination that pushes you to break through walls to your next level of growth.
  9. How much do you change when you know no one is around?
    1. I actually don’t think I change much. I’m just way more comfortable singing
  10. What is a cause that is worth dedicating your life to?
    1. I’ll give you 2: The gospel of Jesus Christ and fighting human trafficking
  11. What should parents stop teaching their children?
    1. That they’re only worth what they can contribute to the world. It means well, but a lot of times, that contribution is looked at as having a job with a spouse and 2.5 kids, but that contribution can also look like laying down your life (and a big, fat salary) to serve those in your community.

So, did anything surprise you? What about your answers? I hope this was a fun read, though I’m sure I will be doing something like this down the line. One more thing I will say about me is that I love to pray for my brothers and sisters, so if you ever need anything or would like me to pray for you, send me a tweet to @ashyounks or an email to amyounkins@gmail.com.

In the words of Jamie Primak, “I love you today. Have a great day.”

With love,

your sister in Christ

Leave a Reply

