Live It Well

Yesterday was the 5th anniversary of my high school graduation. In the last 5 years, I’ve moved 10 times, had 7 jobs (before anyone gets judgy, each of them were about a year and most of them overlapped #team2jobs), and made countless memories.

When I graduated, I had my heart set on leaving Melbourne (to never return), studying law, getting married, and living in a hip apartment in some big city. As an executive assistant for a real estate team in Melbourne, I think it’s safe to say my life looks completely different from what I thought it would. To be honest, I’m glad my life has turned out this way. I work with some of the most awesome people I know at a job I love, and yes, I have grown to love Melbourne.

That said, my 4 years in South Florida taught me lessons that I couldn’t have learned anywhere else, so I am incredibly thankful. One of the biggest lessons is reflected well in one of Switchfoot’s newest songs, “Live It Well.” Life is so short! In the last 6 years, I’ve had 3 friends and family die. On March 13, 2013, it was my 2 year old nephew, Elijah. I will never forget the day I found out. In that moment, I was faced with the sobering truth that I was wasting my time on things that didn’t matter.

The truth is, none of us are guaranteed tomorrow. That’s why it’s so important to live life well, to love one another, and to serve one another. This is really the only chance we have to leave a positive impact on the world.

So to the Class of 2016, it may be so easy and appealing to run to somewhere new and spend the upcoming years partying, I encourage you to leave a legacy where ever you go and to show love to everyone you come in contact with. Get connected with likeminded people on campus or seek work opportunities that may seem weird for you. I never would have chosen real estate for myself, but God in his perfect wisdom, brought me to some pretty awesome people who have been an incredible family to me and are likeminded in their hearts for service.

At the end of the day, no matter where you go, remember that home is where the people you love are. Dont take that for granted.

I love you guys and I hope that you have an awesome week!

With love,

your sister in Christ

Colossians 1:3-12

 

Leave a Reply

