Ashley’s 23 Days

Hi Everyone! My name is Ashley Younkins and I am from a small town in Central Florida called Melbourne. When I was in 9th grade, I watched a video about human trafficking and a 12 year old boy who started a non profit organization to work against it. I was deeply inspired and moved to be more active against injustices in my community.

Upon becoming a Christian the following year, I knew God wanted more than a once a week commitment, He wanted to completely transform my heart. In this time, authors and pastors like John Piper, David Platt, Kyle Idleman, and Matt Chandler began to open my eyes to the great need in the hearts of the lives around me.

So for my 21st birthday, I decided to do something about it. Instead of getting gifts and planning a party, I wanted my friends and family to do something nice every day for 21 days. As a result, the 21 Days of Kindness challenge was created and provided a way for my friends and family to get their friends and family active in their communities.

This year for my 23rd birthday, I wanted to revamp the challenge to 23 Days of Sacrifice. Many of the days are repeats with a twist. As we go through the challenge, I will also share a passage of scripture every day to show where I was inspired to act.

While I know many of my family and friends do not know Jesus as their Lord and Savior, you are more than welcome to participate. That said, I want to clarify that these acts of service we are participating in are not able to bring us any closer to God. As a Christian, I know that doing this doesn’t make me a better person or more favored in God’s eyes, but this is an outpouring of love and gratitude for the sacrifice that Jesus made for me.

It is by His grace alone that I have the privilege of sharing this with you today. If you do have any questions about what I believe or why I believe it, feel free to send me an email to amyounkins@gmail.com or a tweet to @ashyounks. Thank you so much for joining me on this journey and stay tuned for the challenges to be posted!

Edited to add the Facebook event here, if you want to keep up that way!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Emily says:

    Can’t wait to spread God’s love with you and all of your friends and family. You are awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ashyounks says:

      Thank you, Em! I’m very excited, as well!

      Like

Leave a Reply

